5D + Sigma 30mm 1.4

I can’t believe I hadn’t tried this until now. Dad has had his 5D for a week longer than I have had the 40D now and I’ve had the Sigma 30mm 1.4 for nearly as long. Anyway, last night I decided to see how bad the vignetting would be from the lens on a full frame camera. So I grabbed the 5D and fired off a couple of shots.

First thing I noticed was not the vignetting but the colours and the DOF. Could not believe just how different the images from the lens looked on the different camera. The bokeh was a million times smoother and the colours, oh how I could go on all day about the colours. But I will just say, they are awesome as far as I am concerned. Sure, there is that nasty and rather obvious vignetting but eh, it is still a usable, fast 30mm lens.

I also tried to see how close I could get a shot using it with the 40D and well, its almost there, but at the same time, no where near in my opinion.

And a few more from just the 5D…

2 Responses to 5D + Sigma 30mm 1.4

  1. adam says:

    Thank you so much for posting this. i might just keep the lens after all!

  2. Jacqueline says:

    How interesting! I’ve been thinking about buying this for my XSi but worried about it not being full frame compatible. So interesting to see what this looks like on the 5dmii.

Leave a Reply

