Losing It

It’s official. I am in a photographic funk and have been for quite some time now. Getting out of it is proving to be ridiculously difficult and is frustrating me beyond belief. The other day, I ventured into the city with the sole intention of taking photos. Of course, I lugged my gear around for a good 6 hours and took nothing. Nothing at all! The camera didn’t even leave my bag once.

I really am starting to think that the 40D is to blame. Now I know we aren’t supposed to blame our equipment but I was just much more pleased with my photos when I was shooting with the 20D. Everything about the images just seemed to pop more and I rarely ended up in situations like this. Looking at my normal sources of inspiration is proving to be not so useful as well which is a tad annoying… I am however going on a little shoot next weekend with an old friend from school, Hayleigh (blog, Flickr) so hopefully I will be able to take at least a couple of photos then haha. Actually, it has been a while since I have just wandered around town with some company and my camera, so maybe that is why I have started to lose interest.

In other news, I am now the official photographer for Oz Cruise Club, a site which I have been involved with for a fair while now. So I have an excuse every now and then to take photos at least ;). With the second and third official club group cruises organised and with me booked on them, I will be able to shoot a bit more than I am now. I will also be going along to land based events in Brisbane and also Newcastle and Sydney when I am able to organise flights and accommodation. We had a quick breakfast/lunch meet and greet last Wednesday which was great fun. Took my first large group photo with the strobes as well and well, I still have a lot to learn about lighting. Happy with the results none the less though.

And of course there was a ship involved as well (same one I went on back in February)

Leave a Reply

